Politics - G.A.T.S.


Why a page dedicated to politics? Well, I try to actively participate in the democratical life of the society I live in (France, Europe), to make my opinion by looking carefully at some political questions, and contribute to some debates with my ideas.

Recently, i investigated what the World Trade Organization actually does, especially in the framework of the G.A.T.S. (General Agreement on Trade and Services). It deals with and obviously has a major influence on many human activities (education, health, transportation, etc). I was scared by the difficulty to gather precise information and by the complexity of this agreement. So how can a civilian know if it is good for the society or not? if it agrees with what he thinks the society should be?

After getting this information, i condensed it in a summary and made a web site to objectively inform my fellow citizens (yes, it might be you) about what the G.A.T.S. is. In a second (and well delimited) part of this site, I wrote some comments that reflect my personal opinion. Look at it by yourself:

http://agcs.free.fr


It is in French; i would like to make an English, a German and/or a Spanish version of it, but have little time to do it at the moment. May be the comments of interested readers will help me to find it.

Eric Rivals, 2004
This document was translated from LATEX by HEVEA.

Politique - A.G.C.S.


Pourquoi une page dédiée à la politique ? En fait, je me préoccupe de la vie démocratique de la société dans laquelle je vis. Pour cela, je m'intéresse à certaines questions politiques et tente de contribuer aux débats avec quelques idées.

Récemment, je mes suis informé sur les activités de l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (O.M.C.) et plus spécialement sur l'A.G.C.S. (Accord Général sur le Commerce des Services). Cet accord, qui se situe juridiquement au dessus des lois nationales, traite et influence de nombreuses activités humaines telles que l'éducation, la santé, les transports, etc. Je fus effrayé par la difficulté à rassembler des informations précises sur cet accord, ainsi que par sa complexité. Comment est-il possible à l'homme de la rue, du moins à celui qui ne baigne pas dans la politique internationale, de se faire une idée sur l'A.G.C.S. ? De déterminer s'il est compatible avec sa vision de la société ?

J'ai donc écrit un résumé de ces informations et l'ai mis à disposition sur un site internet avec pour but d'informer mes concitoyens (et oui, il s'agit de vous) sur ce qu'est l'A.G.C.S. Dans une seconde partie de ce document, je donne quelques commentaires qui reflètent mon avis personnel. Rendez vous compte par vous-même :
http://agcs.free.fr


Le site est en français ; j'aimerais en écrire une version en anglais, en allemand ou en espagnol, mais n'en ai pas le temps en ce moment. Vos commentaires et vos demandes m'y pousseront peut-être. Donnez-moi votre avis.

© Eric Rivals, 2004
This document was translated from LATEX by HEVEA.